#
It is currently Wed Sep 03, 2014 12:00 am

Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 18 posts ]
 Post subject: 1979 Mitsubishi Galant Lambda (Super Touring)
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 2:25 pm 

Hi Guys,

I'm new here... well not new to the site. I've been visiting the Site for more than a year now but I just registered a while ago and thought I'd share a few things about my car.

I have a 1979 Mitsubishi Galant Lambda (Super Touring)

Here's a picture:

I love this car. She's been very good to me. I named her Nemo.

I'm not good with mechanics but I can do minor fixes. The only major changes I did (well actually had a mechanic do the hard parts--mostly things I didn't know how to do myself) were swapping the Carburator (Toyota 4K) and Diferential (Toyota Lite Ace).

I broke the diferential (and the reason is very shameful so I will not tell you that I was racing) and thought I'd like to replace it with a tougher one but would still fit so I got a Toyota Lite Ace diferential.

As for the Carburetor, it was leaky so I though of buying a new one but the price is too high so I got a 4K Toyota Carb and an Intake Manifold that fitted (which until today I don't know what car it came out of) with the carb and engine perfectly.

Here's a picture of the new carb in the engine:

Sorry, I don't know how to resize the picture, but hey, that should be detailed enough. :D

Also, another major repair was the gas tank. When I bought the car, it had been sitting for almost a year with very minimal fuel in the gas tank and so it rusted from the inside. I'm not sure how but it did, and it clogged everything up (which also contributed to the leaks in the original carb and clogging) so I had it split into to two, scraped, then I thought the 60 L capacity was a bit too much so I had them remove 1/4 of the tank so now it's around 40 L.